Painful Necessities


So here I am at work, experiencing my 4th day of medication for dental surgery. I must say that I am quite relieved to have my first wisdom tooth out. It has been a breath of fresh air for me and I no longer have to endure tooth aches in that area anymore.

Last Saturday I was drowned in mixed emotions, fear, anticipation and excitement. I had been waiting to have my dental surgery for a couple of years now and it is good to finally be taking care of it. Had this surgery been done two years ago, I would not have to lose all my 2nd molars as the 3rd ones would simply grow in their place. Now, two years later however, it is a different story.

I was on the dentist chair for about 30 minutes max, it was actually an awesome experience for me as I closed my eyes through the procedure. My dentist is extremely good and knows the dental history of everyone in the family. I first went to him when I was 2 years old and he has seen me through all the dental vendettas that I had to endure throughout my existence. I did not expect it to end so soon. It was comforting to know I was in good hands as my dentist had taken out hundreds if not thousands of impacted molars throughout his career. He simply injected anesthesia throughout the area (which did not hurt at all, he is very good with injecting it) extracted the molar, cut through the gum to see the wisdom tooth, extracted it and then placed a suture, around 2 or 3 stitches.

The pain and swelling went on for around two days, not bad actually since I had to make my way back to Makati on Monday morning. The bleeding stopped at the second day as well. So come Monday, I was at work with a chubby right cheek! So swollen! hahaha πŸ™‚ It was all good though and I am looking forward to my next operation with more confidence. 1 surgery down, 3 more to go!

It also gives me a good excuse to go overboard with the ice cream indulgence πŸ˜€

 

Leave a Reply

